Dr.Pants, the Ants’ family

Vivie Reads
2 min readSep 18, 2021

I am Dr.Pants. I am an ant. My colony / family is also called Formicidae.

I live in the Ant Hill at Lal Bagh gardens. I am the head of the Ant Club here.

Humans come to visit us, on an ant walk in Lal Bagh.

You might think of my home as a pile of dirt and sand, but in reality, it is a very organized palace, with Chamber for the Drone, Queen, princess, soldiers, workers and other rooms with long tunnels.

We must make hay while the sun shines, so we work hard and collect food during summer, so we can relax all winter. Our grand mother tells us the story about my fore father and a lazy grasshopper.

Many of my relatives outside Lal Bagh, have abandoned their ant hill palace and moved here. Sometimes, snakes take over their homes.

The air outside my palace is so polluted due to vehicles that my spiracles nearly choke, yet I can smell food miles away.

I can smell some jaggery ! I am going to get it…

See you later..

  • Story by Vivvaan Bajpayee

--

--